search & book Quick request
Brennerradroute Brenner-Bozen

Brenner-Bozen Bicycle Route

Road bike, E-Bike & Pleasure Cycling

General description

This bike route through the Isarco Valley is a pleasure tour that offers idyllic scenery. Rolling hills, small towns and cultural treasures line this well-marked bike route, which leads from Brennero to South Tyrol’s capital city of Bolzano. The Brennero/Brenner–Bolzano/Bozen Bike Route starts at the Brenner Pass and runs along the former railway line, which is at a slight downhill grade, to Vipiteno/Sterzing. The marked bike path then continues, partly flat and with a light ascent, through picturesque villages and small hamlets up to Franzensfeste Fortress, past Lake Vahrn, and along the Kastanienweg (Chestnut) Trail towards Novacella/Neustift Abbey and then continuing on towards Bressanone/Brixen. The section from Bressanone to Bolzano is again a brisk ride through the narrow Isarco Valley, with a stopover in the little artists’ town of Chiusa/Klausen, known for its imposing hilltop Säben Abbey. From there, the route continues to the capital city of Bolzano. The Brennero/Brenner–Bolzano/Bozen Bike Route runs a total length of 96 kilometers from Brennero to Bolzano.

Route description

Leg 1: Brennero/Brenner Pass to Bressanone/Brixen Stops: Brennero border crossing – Colle Isarco/Gossensass – Vipiteno/Sterzing – Thumburg – Castel Tasso/Burg Reifenstein – Stilves/Stilfes – Mezzaselva/Mittewald – Fortezza/Franzensfeste – Lago di Varna/Vahrner See – Varna/Vahrn – Bressanone/Brixen - Distance: 54 km Leg 2: Bressanone/Brixen to Bolzano/Bozen - Stops: Bressanone/Brixen – Albes/Albeins – Chiusa/Klausen – Ponte Gardena/Waidbruck – Colma/Kollmann – Campodazzo/Atzwang – Prato all’Isarco/Blumau – Cardano/Kardaun – Bolzano/Bozen. Distance: 42 km




Tour map & altitude profile
Our quality promise The certified quality of the BikeHotelss Südtirol